Sign In to join the community | Help
Bath & Faucets

Answered

Bathroom sink is cracked around where the popup stopper is?

Hi.  I am a little new to this fix it stuff.  I want to be able to fix things on my own since I am a woman.  Anyway, can you tell if this can be fixed or do I need to get a new sink all together.

I have another question.  My bathroom when you turn the handle all the way to hot there is not pressure and no hot water but just cold.  Is this something I can fix myself or do I need to call a plumber.

Thanks, 

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-02-27T19:03:07+0000  by jax016 jax016

For a small chip sure thing :robothappy: glad we could be of assistance.

Cheers,

ChrisFixit

Best Answer

Posted 2011-03-21T16:11:25+0000  by Chris_HD_ATL

with the sink you could try a heavy duty epoxy, but make sure crack is very clean. the faucet. Call a plumber 

Posted 2011-02-27T20:46:11+0000  by vatoloco1957

Hey there jax016, we all gotta start somewhere and you picked a great place to start your DIY journey.  Fixing a crack in a sink is actually a fairly easy process. Whether it's worth doing or not is really dependent on if the crack is deep enough to cause leaking and of course if the crack is too wide to worry about patching. Usually any cracks at the drain are the thin hairline type and super easy to take care of with a quick coat of Porc-a-fix. Porc-a-fix is a touch up paint and available in the paint department of most of our stores.  If the crack is more substantial the following steps should help you have it fixed in no time. 

• Thoroughly wipe the sink clean and allow to completely dry.
  • Apply the epoxy adhesive along the length of the crack.
  • Depending on the width of the crack you may need to use something (toothpick, small plastic scrapper) to insure the crack is completely filled with epoxy.
  • Wipe the excess epoxy away immediately with a damp old cloth. Be careful not to wipe over the crack itself.