Sign In to join the community | Help
Project Ideas: Fun & Games

Computer Science Student requesting help with accessing your Product API for a project.

Hello, 

I am a student at Fullstack Academy, a top-rated software engineering bootcamp in the US. I am currently studying at the Chicago campus. As part of the curriculum we are tasked with coming up with, and creating our own projects which implement the technologies we have recently learned. I want to create an application that calculates and maps the most efficient shopping route through a Home Depot store given an online cart containing items that are in-stock at the customer's chosen store. In order to accomplish this, I could use a technique called 'scraping' to acquire all the data from the website, but that solution would make my application pretty slow. A much faster solution would be to access information using the an API. I have seen mention of Home Depot offering limited access to 3 APIs including Store Search, Products, and Catalog... however you need login credentials to access the developer.homedepot resources. Is it possible for someone like myself to be granted limited access to API's for the purpose of creating an academic project? 

Thank you,
-TL Long
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2020-02-21T19:36:46+0000  by tllong tllong

While your project sounds interesting, I strongly suspect that Home Depot won’t give you the API for security and privacy reasons.  But that’s just a guess and I don’t work for the Home Depot nor represent them in any way.