Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Help..basement shower drain leaking?

I am kind of new to the do-it-yourself repairs, so I am quite inexperienced to the functions of a shower drain in cement. Please don't hold it against me if any of my questions seem naive.

I have a stand up corner shower in my basement bathroom and the drain appears to be leaking. I have resealed all the seams in hopes that may have been the issue..but I was wrong. Every time the shower is used (which is not often because of the leak), a large puddle flows into the adjoining hall and furnace room (seeps under walls). I am thankful that there is a large enough gap between the sheetrock and cement flooring to prevent moisture on the sheetrock but I am still worried if this water is damaging other parts of the adjoining bathroom walls. I have only been in my home for two years and it was leaking the first day I used it. It also appears that the previous owners knew of this leak because the drain in the shower has been recaulked (several times by the looks) yet it is still kind of crooked too. Another note: when standing in the shower, the base does not seem solid (plastic sinks a little under weight of foot). Is this normal?

I need help on deciding what to do about this problem. I would eventually like a tub/shower combo put in its place but how do I determine if the issue is the current shower base or if it is the drain (which goes directly into the cement) itself? If it sounds like I must replace the shower, what steps must I do to make sure I find a tub/shower that would work properly with the current drain that goes into the cement? Any advice or comments are welcomed, I would love to fix this problem before it gets worse. Thank you in advance.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-02-07T18:40:06+0000  by Deven01 Deven01

Hey Deven01 thank you joining and welcome to the community.