Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Answered

Install Bathroom Cabinet....Drywall over Plaster

I am trying to install a cabinet on my bathroom wall.  I live in a very old house and the bathroom walls are drywall over top of plaster.  I can't seem to use my drywall anchors in the walls.  Any ideas on how I should anchor my screws to support the weight of my cabinet?

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-01-05T16:05:31+0000  by Peekay Peekay

Im a finish carpenter cabinet maker of many year, if you are installing an actual cabinet (upper) stop right there.

It is very important that your screw anchor into the studs of your wall, you can find the studs several ways, keep in mind you will make some nail holes in the wall, but you should be able to fill them and cover them with the cabinet,

1) measure from the corner of the wall to the point where you want the cabinet...mark it.

2) Note on your tape measure that at 16" and multiples of 16 your tape is specially marked for that multiple. Mark that multiple of 16 that will fall behind your cabinet.

3) Take a hammer, 2 1/2" or 3"  Nail or screw and nail it into the wall....stud should be there or within a half inch or so...you may have to make 4 or 5 holes to find it.  

If its not there measure from the opposite corner and repeat above.....once youve found one stud the others will be 16" away either side......

so know youve found it....mark where you want the the edge of the cabinet......measure to the stud you found,  transfer that dimension onto the cabinet...always pre drill holes in the cabinet.......place the cabinet where you want it and voila!

Best Answer

Posted 2011-01-05T16:34:39+0000  by mahargbk

Hello Peekay,

Jeff here from The Home Depot out in Chicago. You have a few options when it comes to hanging cabinets on plaster walls same goes for whether or not they have been dry walled over.