Sign In to join the community | Help
Building Materials

Leveling Existing Concrete Patio for Drainage

Hello - I am planning a DIY project to screen in my existing and covered concrete patio. During rainstorms the patio collects some water thereby forming  puddles since there is not a good slope to allow for drainage. I thought it would be a good idea to remedy this issue before screening in the patio to prevent moisture problems. My patio would be screened in along the already existing 6 x 6 wood columns. 

Looking ahead once the water drainage issue is fixed I am also considering installing tile over the concrete to make the flooring appealing in appearance. I'm not committed to doing tile and would consider other suggestions based off the level of effort as a DIYer. 

So for my water drainage issue I have looked around on the web and come across a few different solutions I think might fix the issue. However I am no expert and was looking for suggestions on what and how to best fix this.

I have provided a simple drawing showing the scale of the area. Also attached a few pictures of the area after a heavy rainfall a few months back so you can visualize. 

Looking forward to any assistance that can be provided. Thanks.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2015-01-08T18:54:18+0000  by jlde2001 jlde2001

Hey jlde2001!

Thanks for the images ... very helpful!

The simple way to improve drainage would be to rent a diamond-blade etcher from your local Tool Rental and lower the outside lip off your concrete patio to promote outflow.

This would be even easier if you use a laser level to check your progress.

HOW TO:
The diamond-blade etcher looks like a lawn mower with a shop vac piggy backed to collect dust and debris.

As you move across the surface, it cuts a relatively even layer from the surface of the cement.

Use your laser level to check and mark high spots and then recheck regularly to prevent removing too much surface.