Sign In to join the community | Help
Bath & Faucets

Answered

My toilet flange is too high after removing the dry mortar bed for new tile floor installation...

Before I begin with my concern, I must inform that I am new at this.  This is my first tile job!   I am retiling a bathroom floor, after removing the old tile and the dry mortar bed, I came to realization that the toilet flange might be too high for the new floor. It currently sits 1 1/2" from the subfloor, I figure 1/2 hardebacker and tile would only be 3/4 of an inch. That would leave the flange 3/4 of  inch above the finished floor. What would be my solution to building this floor bak up to the flange?

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-10-30T02:51:15+0000  by TGDoubleu TGDoubleu

You have a few options for this.
1. Install additional plywood subfloor on top of your original subfloor to build it up. Using screws & glue will help prevent possible movement & squeaking later on.
2. You can pour a new self leveling mortar bed. We do this for every bathroom floor we install. 1 1/2 inches is a bit high, so either way, you're going to have a considerable step at the door. Self leveler dries dead flat every time, which makes your tile installation a breeze. You can transition this step by using a full slab thickness piece of granite or travertine. You'll have to get it cut & beveled to meet your need.
3. You can change your flange to lower it. This is way more work, especially since if you had a floor bed to remove, your flange is probably cast iron. Lowering your flange will, however, lower your finished floor height & transition.

I can walk you through whichever method you decide to use. Good luck.

Best Answer

Posted 2012-10-30T12:54:12+0000  by fpcustoms
Don't know what the "nail it" signifies, so I hit it to see what would happen. I apologize if I used it incorrectly or out of context. First time user here.
Posted 2012-10-30T12:58:00+0000  by fpcustoms