Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

News Anchor Desk

Hi I'm a student, and I'm looking to build a news anchor desk for our college tv station.

I would like it to look something like thisdesk.jpg

I am pretty clueless on where to start so if someone could help that would be awesome.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-11-28T19:35:45+0000  by lacrossebap3x6 lacrossebap3x6

A few questions will help to create the deskof your dreams. 

1.  Will the desk need to be moved often or will it be a permanent fixture?
  2. What are your skills with wood and metal?
  3. What tools do you have available?
  4. What is your Budget?

You can email me at jimruss0539@yahoo.com

I have helped high schools to make cabinets for Band rooms, I have been in the construction trades for 40 years and I should be able to help with your project.

Posted 2011-11-29T14:46:00+0000  by JimRuss0539
This is relatively easy. I will draw you up a plan in the next 24 to 48 hours
Posted 2011-11-29T15:44:09+0000  by Paul

Hi hello and welcome to the How-to-Community.

So you guys are clueless on where to start with this absolutely awesome and great project?

No problem I think can help with that :smileyhappy:

If I was the one doing this project I would start off with a desk design and material list first.

I like the design of the above pictured desk but in my opinion it would look even better if you were to angle the sides so it gives you that “rising” look.

Just a suggestion;

Anchor Desk.JPG 

Btw carpet is the must :smileyvery-happy:

This is pretty much what I think you are going to need for this project;

3 -sheets of ¾ cabinet grade plywood, one for the base, one for the top and one for the trim piece.

12 - 2x4x8’s #2 and better pine (easier to work with)

3 LB - of 3” gold construction screws

3- sheets of ¼ luan underlayment plywood

3- 12OZ tubes of construction grade adhesive

1-tube of paintable wood filler

3-sheets of #150 sand paper