Sign In to join the community | Help
Our Workshops

Treating Butcher Block Countertops

Hello, I am looking to use a butcher block countertop (likely a 6 ft Brown or Espresso Stained Acacia) for a desk. I do not know a single thing about treating wood or anything. Start to finish, what do I do and what products do I use for my countertop to use as a desk? How often should I use them? In addition, I do not have any tools readily available. I can potentially purchase any oils or products necessary but will not be able to sand, cut, etc. at my house. Thank you so much I am completely new to this and do not know a thing.
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2020-07-06T03:43:26+0000  by rparikh rparikh

Hey rparikh,

Thanks for your question and welcome to the community.

Depending on if you ever decide to eat on the future desk or place food directly on it's surface will determine what to purchase. Since the butcher block itself already will have a tinted color to it, very little by the way of a coating on top of it will be needed.

If you do decide to use this as something to eat off of (that's what they are made for, not so much for desk usage), you can opt for the product shown below and linked here.

It's very simple to use to wipe on and use. It's made from natural ingredients like beeswax which is safe to use as well. Personally, I like this option bc I've used this on building a cutting board and it will help protect the wood surface without harming you. 

12 oz. Butcher Block Conditioner

If you know that you'll never ever be using this butcher block for any type of food preparation, you can then opt for applying a high quality polyurethane. We sell various types online and at your local Home Depot's paint department.

Some versions like a Spar Varnish urethane works very well for situations like this. But, ONLY use this clear coat option if you decide to never use the block for food prep. Placing drinks on the surface is fine, though.