Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

1st DIY project, Wooden front porch steps...

So, I've just moved into this old house, cute as a bug but some things are of course falling apart and need to be replaced. Have decided to replace the steps myself since those seem to be in the worst shape ( we found when trying to move things in ha ha). I sort of have an idea where to start, but being my ocd and analytical self, I wanted to research online to make sure I do everything correctly from the get go. So far I have found many DIY info on replacing and building wooden deck steps. But my steps are just to the front door, not extremely wide though not very narrow either.

I need to know how to measure, and pretty much step by step what I should do. (Wow that sounds awful) but completing this task will be so awesome. So any help would be greatly apreciated. And yes I am a big time beginner, though I have all the tools I need ( thanks to a wonderful grandfather).  Thank ya much.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-03-10T18:05:46+0000  by mj2020 mj2020

Hey mj2020.

Stringers are the main supports that hold the stairs together from top to bottom.  They run at an angle and have the cutouts for treads and risers.  You can make them from 2x12s or buy them pre-made in certain lengths.

Stair treads are the boards you actually walk on, the steps on a stairway.

Risers are the boards that your toes run into if you step to far on a tread.  In some staircases, the risers are omitted for a more open look.

Let me give you some links to other sites that show how to do this.

References made to how advanced this is to do relate to 2 things:

1. There is some math involved.  It is simple math but it's math just the same.

2. Carpenters who build elaborate staircases in homes use different methods, and this work is at the top of their game.

For those of us who just need a simple set of deck stairs, this project is not so bad.

Here goes: