Sign In to join the community | Help
Flooring

Asbestos Tile Flooring - How to cover?

Hi All

I am a complete newbie with flooring.

I recently purchased a home with a den that contains asbestos tile flooring. I have heard the nightmares of removing the flooring so simply wish to cover it in my updating of the room. My problem is that the previous owner converted the garage into additional den space. Currently 3/4 of the den has the asbestos flooring and the remainder is simply concrete from the previous garage floor (giving me an uneven surface since the tile sits up higher).

Is there a way to cover the asbestos flooring and level out the two surfaces? I ideally want to put laminate flooring down and dont know if the underlayment would even this? Or if i have to even the surfaces and then put down the underlayment?

Thanks for any help/advice you can provide

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-11-18T00:28:54+0000  by Homeowner1234 Homeowner1234

Asbestos only becomes an issue if particles become airborne.  If the existing floor is in good shape the cheapest, easiest solution is to cover it.  You want to avoid cutting, drilling, sanding, or doing anything that abrades the old tile.

You would need to level the floor for laminate.  You can use leveling compound, which is a cement like product that is mixed fairly thin and seeks it's own level.  Another option is to find something to fill the space.  Depending on the size of the area you might think about using more vinyl tile or sheet vinyl the same thickness as the existing floor.  Look for closeouts or remnants; basically the cheapest stuff you can find. 

Then lay your laminate over that.  You'll definitely need a vapor barrier.

Posted 2013-11-18T01:43:25+0000  by Adam444