Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Attic

I want to install insulation in my  attic can you tell me the best way to do that. And does it take a long time> I am new at this I have never done t before or any home repairs far as that is concerned. And should I add insulation to the upper part of the attic as well

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-03-19T18:57:34+0000  by missice2003 missice2003

Hey there missice2003,

Thanks for your question and welcome to the community!

I did a post similar to yours a few months regarding insulation. They needed something a little different so I won't repost it but the tool and easiest way is IMO  using a blown-in insulation machine. We rent them out at any Home Depot that has a Tool Rental department, we even had another version at an older store I worked for that didn't have a Tool Rental department. Most stores should have the brand AttiCat as the one they rent out, and its the easiest one I have seen out there for anyone to use. Using this way of insulation, you can save time and money rather than getting too up close and personal with the rolls of insulation, and you still are insulating your attic.

dscf8280.gifdscf8280.gif

Generally, one person can do this, but I recommend having the machine down on the regular house floor and having the 2nd person actually in the attic blowing in the insulation so you can have better control over the machine.

I recommend the blowing-in method vs. the rolled (known as kraft-faced or pink) insulation IF your attic has issues with accessibility, tight areas, and you simply need more insulation in more areas. Check with your local Home Depot and speak to an associate in our building materials department and they can set you up with the materials, and then head out to the Tool Rental Center, where we can get you set up with rental.