Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Behr Premium Plus Paint - Ultra White flat and eggshell

I was a professional painter on and off for around 10 years. I still paint for friends and relatives, though its not how I make my living. I've painted a lot of rooms with both latex and oil and most of the products that have been available for the last 40 years. I'd like to share my recent experience with Behr Prem. Plus Paint.  I painted over primer, Kilz Latex and Kilz original, 1 coat of latex on the walls 2 coats of original on the dark wood trim. Everything was properly prepared, scruffed up, washed, dust taken off etc. The Kilz stuck very well and laid out nice. The oil dried nice and smooth which I wanted on the trim. On the walls, I had to use 3 topcoats of the Behr flat paint and on the trim, 3 topcoats of the eggshell. All just to get a just passable look. This is F**ng ridiculous. Four full coats on the walls and Five coats on the trim total. 20 gallons of paint for 3 rooms. What a waste of time and money! 
I will say this about the Behr Prem. Plus. It stuck to the surface, laid out well, brushed nicely and dried evenly. The one HUGE problem it has is that it doesn't cover. Now you could say that I should have gone with the Ultra Behr product. ok, I could see that with a drastic color change but I was going over off white walls and had primed. The trim I knew I had to paint 3 coats, but 5? Never again. Next time I go with BM, they've never let me down. 
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2018-04-19T22:33:18+0000  by avisitorhere avisitorhere