Sign In to join the community | Help
Flooring

Ceramic TIle on Bathroom Floor

Hi,  We recently bought a home and the 1/2 bath had this horrible smell from the previous elderly owner so we decided to rip up the sub floor and re do the floor to eliminate that nasty smell.   We have the toilet and sink removed and the subfloor is completely out.  Now we are just left with the boards that run diagonally across the beams (not sure what the technical term is).    I would like to put down 12 by 12" ceramic tile but I have never done any tiling before and want to know what I need before I get started.  The room is small 4'5" by 4'11" and is rectangular with no odd areas.  I'm a little confused.  Do I need to put down the plywood subfloor and then the cement board?  Which is what I think I need to do but want to make sure.   What do I need to buy and what do I need to do.  Any one have any suggestions?  I'm no stranger to home improvements but this kind of scares me a little.  Thanks for any help and suggestions. 

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-03-18T05:45:32+0000  by Domesticwannabe Domesticwannabe

Greetings Domesticwannabe, Welcome to the How-To-Community.

My name is Mike and I work with The Home Depot in Chicago and I can help you get this figured out.  Congratulations on the new home and now the fun part begins.  To help with this subfloor you will have to put down plywood and cement board. 

5/8 plywood will work just fine for this. Since it’s a rectangle this won’t be too bad to do. You’re going to want to lay they plywood over the joist length wise and use a gold wood screw about a 1 ½ .  Once you get your dimensions layed out, any local Home Depot can cut the plywood for you to make this job easier.