Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Creating a new Computer/workdesk

Hello everyone,

First of all, I'd just like to say that I'm a beginner at woodworking.  I've done a dabble some many, many years ago but for the most part, I am an amateur.  My knowledge consists of books and videos I've been looking at the past week from the local library.  I'm also new to these forums.  I live walking distance to Home Depot, probably less than a half mile.  What I'm shooting for is making a desk that'll give me a good space to work and do my art while also doubling as a computer desk.  I often use the computer to look up references as I draw and thus thought of the idea to make a two-in-one desk.  I would very much appreciate any comments that can let me make a better desk.

Let me first explain the desk that I would love to make.  Starting on the right side, the computer is left on a platform (because my room is carpetted and it's not a good idea to have a computer on a carpet floor) that doubles as brace as there is no back piece so that the desk doesn't topple to the right.  There is no wood on the back for computer ventilation.  Hot air from the computer will exhaust on the top, left side, and back of the computer whereas cold air comes in from the front.  Also under the desk is a place to keep all the wires.  A hole on the top also goes through into the box so wires can get to the monitors.  In the center is plexiglass so that I can see the keyboard and below that a cabinet.  On the left side is an open drawing area.  I had first thought of putting drawers there but decided not to because I need room for my legs to comfortably draw.

Desk.png