Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

DIY Staining Wooden Crate

Hi!

First attempt at staining this week. I bought two wooden (Pine) crates that I wanted to stain and possibly use as a nightstand. I am in need of help in selecting the right type of stain and protector. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

After doing some research it looks like I should use a Minwax Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner, then I planned on using Minwax Dark Walnut Stain. Should I use an oil-based stain or water-based? I am assuming if I used oil-based, both the conditioner and protector would have to be oil based?

If I don't use a protector after staining the crates will the stain transfer to something I put in the crate?

Sorry if these are all basic questions (complete newbie).

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2015-12-28T18:19:14+0000  by Homeowner1234 Homeowner1234

First and foremost do not be tempted to use one of the all-in-one finish products like Minwax's Polyshades (Varathane makes one too).  In short, they are incredibly difficult to apply evenly, even more so with a project like a crate that has lots of slats.

With any staining project it's a good idea to test first, either on the bottom or back of the project where it won't be seen or on scrap pieces.

Pine naturally takes stain unevenly resulting in what's called blotching and the key to a good job is to use a sealer of some sort.  They're sold as sanding sealers or conditioners but they all do the same thing, to lightly seal the wood.

I would suggest sanding the piece to 220 grit.  Depending on how rough the surface is you may need work you way up, starting at 100 grit, then 150, and finally 220 grit.  Vacuum the surface and then go over it with a tack rag to remove any dust created by sanding.  Apply the sanding sealer according to the directions on the package.  After the sealer is dry, lightly sand the surface with 220 grit and vacuum/tack rag.