Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Drywall Installation

I just recently had water damage to my home and they had to remove some drywall. I am a beginner and need to find out what it will take to put drywall back up. I have taken measurements to the area that was damaged and removed so now there is part of walls that are missing. I am wondering what materials besides drywall I will need to fix this issue. I want to do it myself and will go purchase the drywall because I have measured the spots that need it and most of it will require a full sheet of drywall but after that I need help.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-02-15T04:11:51+0000  by Lefty0305 Lefty0305

Hello Lefty0305,

It sounds like you have taken most of the damaged drywall down, so I will start with purchasing the new.

In the store, an Associate from Building Materials can assist you when choosing between our lightweight and the standard weight drywall. The most important choice you will make is matching the thickness of your existing drywall.

The other supplies you will need include "Left Handed" drywall screws, a sheetrock screw driver attached to your drill, a sheetrock knife, joint compound, a "mud" knife and tray, mud tape and corner bead (if the repair involves corners), and 150 "first coat" sanding screen as well as 220 "final coat" sanding screen (some prefer a sanding sponge instead). If your repair involves outlet or switch electrical boxes, you will need a keyhole saw to cut those holes.

If this repair is above the floor, you may want to check in with Tool Rental for a sheetrock lift. It will make easy work of positioning a full sheet while working alone. If the repair is near the floor, you may not need this tool.