Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Easiest way to stain pre-stained wooden chairs in a darker color

Before I start, let me say I am a complete newbie who has never painted or stained anything.

I got these 6 dining chairs from a thrift shop (picture attached) and want to stain it in the darker walnut color of the adjoining dining table and mirror.

1. What would be the easiest and least time-taking method to do this job and how long would an absolute newbie like me take to complete this process for 6 chairs?

2. I have heard that it is necessary to sand the chairs before I can stain them in a darker color. I really don't wnt to do this. Is it necessary and how long would something like this take if I choose to do it.

3. What are the supplies (stain, brush, chemicals etc.) that I should get from Home Depot for this job? 

Thank you.

Dining chairs

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-08-24T03:37:42+0000  by libbrichus libbrichus

Libbricus.

I hate to throw rain on your parade, but there is no easy and non-time consuming way to remove the existing finish :(

Your chairs appear to already have a fairly dark stain on them. It would be difficult to clean them sufficiently to take an even darker stain, I doubt that a mere penetrating stain could get them darker. You would have to utilize a dye stain. Dye stains are most commonly found in specialty workworker's stores.

Should you chose to proceed, you will first have to have a place to work in which you can make a mess and raise a stink from either paint strippers or possibly solvents. Some of these strippers and solvents are flammable, so you have to have plenty of fresh air and turn off possible sources of ignition. Basements are a bad choice. In most cases, the garage is a better choice.