Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Fixing roller marks/uneven paint before putting on 2nd coat

Am using Behr "puddle" primer/paint (eggshell enamel) on dining room walls. 1st coat resulted in a mess! Heavy roller marks, streaks, uneven paint. Started 2nd coat on smaller wall using techniques about fixing problems, and they got worse. I have painted before and have never had this bad of a problem. Please help!
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-02-04T18:19:31+0000  by Bwc Bwc

Bwc,

Sorry to hear you are having problems. I have been using the Behr Ultra Eggshell for a couple years and have had no problems.

Are you saying that you are leaving heavy physical roller texture or are you saying that the coverage is such that it looks uneven? Are you using a very strong, deep color mixed from a "deep base" paint? How long are you  letting the paint dry before re-coating? What type of roller cover and what length of nap are you using?

There are a lot of factors that can affect results. Without seeing your walls, it is hard to tell what is going on.

Posted 2012-02-05T06:09:33+0000  by ordjen

There are definitely a lot of factors that can contribute to such an experience with painting.  Here are some of the top causes:

• Painting over a slick/shiny surface.
  • Painting in high humidity.
  • Painting with a very dark color.
  • Using too large of a roller nap like 3/4 inch.
  • Applying too much paint.
  • Applying a second coat too soon after the first coat.

I know that this is frustrating to say the least - but here are a couple of ways to "fix" the problem for now:

• let that first coat dry overnight.
  • Lightly sand any raised areas where the paint might have collected.
  • Use a 3/8 inch top quality roller nap.
  • Brush and paint one wall at a time (corner to corner).
  • Finish the wall with a final light roll over the top of the still wet paint - from top to bottom and left-to-right.