Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Glitter on bedroom wall

I want to create a light glitter accent wall to my bedroom (picture below of what I hope to achieve).  I have heard that the best way to do so is to paint the wall whatever base colour you want (beige for me), add glitter to a glaze, and then paint over the base colour once dry.  My questions are:
1. Does the base paint have to be a particular type to ensure that the glaze paints over well?
2. Is there a certain type of glaze I need to achieve the look I want - not shiny/reflective?
3. Can I add any fine craft glitter, or do i need a special glitter that will keep its sparkle and not flake off once dry?
4. Any tools recommended to complete this project?

Painting newbie here.

Thanks.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2015-08-31T04:42:10+0000  by Tanya9123 Tanya9123

Welcome to our community Tanya! 

Thank you for your questions! This sounds like a fun project! 

Let's address each question one by one. 

1. Does the base paint have to be a particular type to ensure that the glaze paints over well?
Typically when someone uses a glaze, I recommend using a semi-gloss finish underneath. You will want to use this so some sheen comes through the glaze and also for durability.

2. Is there a certain type of glaze I need to achieve the look I want - not shiny/reflective?
The glaze that we carry, the Ralph Lauren Faux glaze, has a satin finish. We do not have a glaze available in something that is not shiny. 

3. Can I add any fine craft glitter, or do i need a special glitter that will keep its sparkle and not flake off once dry?