Sign In to join the community | Help
Heating & Cooling

Hampton Bay ceiling fans light does not go off

Hi, I have a wireless remote for a Hampton bay ceiling fan and the light does not go off at all it is always on,  all other functions work.  Please help me figure out why the light will not go off.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-05-11T20:01:21+0000  by federicocamacho federicocamacho

Hello federicomacho I am an electrician working at a Depot in the burbs of Chicago. I go by elect_answers, my name is Ralph. I have heard your concern many times. Sometimes the electronics controlling a fan only lose the fan, sometimes the light kit stay on, sometimes always off.

The simplest solution is to replace the set of electronics that control the fan. Depot sells several options, starting from small , fits in the palm of your hand, to fairly large with a thermostat included in the unit. (Of course the options add to the price, but many people I have spoken to were glad they spent the money.)

As always safety first, turn off the power to the fan before you start making changes.  Here is a picture of what both halves of a remote look like.

As you can see power from your world is connected on 1 side and power to the fan is connected on the other. The dip / sliding switches that allow multiple fans to live your world, and be controlled separately are in plain sight The wire on the bottom is the antenna for the remote to "talk" to the fan, leaving some of it out side the canopy will help increase range of control.

A tester like this one will help make sure the power is off before you start electrical work. It is started by pressing the yellow button on the end, above the clip. The end of the tester glows green, it is ready to use. When you touch it to an insulated wire, if the power is on it will make a noise and change color to red. You now know that it is not safe to continue disconnecting wires. 

Hope this helps, we are here to help?