Sign In to join the community | Help
Lawn & Garden

Help my lawn

I recently brought a house in Charlotte,NC.  The lawn is horrible front and back, please suggest ways, I can DYI this project.  Thanks.  I am new to law care and took this picture on Jan. 19, 2013.

Please answer ASAP.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-01-19T17:38:21+0000  by samandrose samandrose

Hey samandrose.

I am sorry, your picture did not come through. The community has been acting weird with pictures. We have been having to copying images and pasting them onto our posts for the last few weeks. 

I live in Atlanta, just down the road from you. If you have Bermuda grass like so many of us here in zone 7 and 8 then you will need to throw down your pre-emergent weed preventer on February 15th to prevent your warm season weeds from coming up this spring. If you have weeds right now, don't worry about them as it is too cold to kill weeds and they are cool season weeds that will die off once it warms up.

With Bermuda grass, you will need to "scalp" the yard around the beginning of March, meaning cutting the dormant grass very short and bagging it up. This will remove the thatch, which can cause fungus in the lawn. Once your lawn starts to green up, you can fertilize it with a weed and feed fertilizer to kill any remaining weeds that you might have.

If you have a Fescue lawn and it needs overseeding then you do not need to put down the Pre-emergent or a weed killer. March is a great time to overseed your Fescue. 

Hit me back with some more details of your lawn and you can send your lawn pictures to my email since the community is misbehaving. My email is ingar_e_nygren@homedepot.com Just send me some pictures and I will tell you everything that we need to do to have the best looking lawn around.

Posted 2013-01-20T14:28:07+0000  by Ingar_HD_ATL