Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Home Bar

Hi I'm a college student that knows absolutely nothing about building things and I'm trying to put a bar counter into my house. There are 2 pillars roughly 5 feet apart and 4 feet away from a wall and it is wasted space, so I was interested in putting a bar counter in between the pillars and closing it off by connecting it to the wall on one side. I was thinking of just doing a plywood top and shelf and connecting it vertically with wooden legs (I don't know if that makes sense but it's basically as simple as you can get). I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for what type of wood or finish I should use and if there is a difference between using nails vs. screws (I don't own a drill of any sort but I do have a hammer). I'm not looking to make this a huge project and it doesn't have to be very sturdy or anything but if there is any tips anyone could give me that'd be great. Also I would like to seal or attach it to the pillars in some way if at all possible, however since I am only renting the house it cannot be permanent. If anyone has any ideas on how to do this that would be very helpful. Thanks for your time!

-Andrea

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-08-10T21:24:00+0000  by whatdabuck whatdabuck

Hey there whatdabuck! I’m BlakeTheDiyGuy and I’m here to help! I think this is a great idea to make functional some of your wasted space. Our very own Shecandoit22 did a great post a while back for a community member who wanted to make an outdoor bar and I think her plan would work perfect for what you are looking for.

original.jpg

THIS LINK will take you to the post she did on building this bar!

I do think it would be a good idea to screw this together, although nailing the frame together would work you would definitely want to screw the fascia panels to the frame. I would just screw the whole thing together.