Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

How do I fix...

So I have a wooden table that I disassembled, sanded and primed with an oil base primer tinted grey-ish... I made sure the surface of the paint was no longer tacky and began painting the table with a black high gloss acrylic paint that was recommended to me by a paint technician at HD, when I started priming I used a high quality foam roller and everything came out nicely, but when I started painting today, using a brand new high quality foam roller and the paint looks like I used a sponge technique... Is there anything I can do besides strip, sanding down and starting from scratch to get the nice smooth finish I was hoping for? HELP!?
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-06-13T02:15:06+0000  by Grace3824 Grace3824

Grace,

I have long cautioned against the use of acrylic paints on furniture, especially furniture upon which things will be set, be it a dish or human arms. Acrylic paints do not dry to a hard finish. They retain a gummy feel to them which is worse in humid weather. Further, acrylics do not flow out as well as do oil paints. Their drying and setting time is just too quick. 

Oil paints dry to a hard finish. they lack that gummy feel of the acrylics. Their slower drying and setting times allow the paint to flow out and level itself.

What to do now? Short of starting completely over, I would suggest that you scuff sand the acrylic paint as best you can. Acrylic paints do not sand well due to that gummy quality I alluded to above. I would then reprime the finish with your gray oil primer. After dry, give it a good sanding  with fine sandpaper. This should help to reduce the dimply texture left by the foam roller.