Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Answered

How do I fix a drafty window

Hi all,

I have a draft coming in my master bathroom window, is there any easy way to fix it apart from replacing the window? Perhaps H Dep make a product for such dealing with such a problem?

Thanks,

Paddy

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-01-10T15:42:38+0000  by Paddy77 Paddy77

Hello Paddy,

welcome back to the community. Good news; there are a number of options you can consider to stop that cold air from sneaking in without having to replace the entire window.  Dependent upon where the air is coming in it can almost always be remedied with either a caulk/sealant/glazing putty, new weather stripping, or insulating window film.

First before you begin you will want to clean the entire window area and determine where the air is making its way in.

The most common area of failure is the weather stripping. On just about every window whether it be a slider, double hung, casement…ECT there will be strips of weather stripping that rest against the sill/track/frame and prevent any air from making its way into your home. Unfortunately these things don’t last forever; fortunately they are a pretty easy fix. Once you have identified the leaky seal, you are going to either need a razor and some adhesive remover, a small finishing hammer to pull the old nails out or a mini pry bar. Once removed you can stop by anyone of our stores and pickup a new weather stripping kit which will normally include everything you need to get your drafty window back to normal again.

Here are a few of the different types of weather stripping we offer.