Sign In to join the community | Help
Flooring

How to dry out water under hardwood floor boards

Hi--

My washer leaked water into the hallway and the hardwood floor boards. Pretty sure there's water under the floor boards because I can hear a slight squishing sound when I step on the boards where the water was.

What's the best way to dry out the water? Worried that the wet will cause the wood to warp or mold.

Thanks!

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-01-07T19:52:13+0000  by ktjen ktjen

DryHero Water Damaged Wood Flooring Drying Service for Lincoln Nebraska

I own and operate DryHero and I've been drying water damaged buildings for over twenty years now.  In my experience in Lincoln Nebraska, water damaged wood flooring is an "it depends" type of evaluation.  Laminate, composite and engineered floors are great but they do not tolerate any significant level of moisture or water damage to their wood.

RESTORING A WOOD FLOOR

1.         Determine of the floor is salvageable.  Solid wood floors that have cupped but are not completely buckled stand the best chance for restoration.  

2.         Remove the bulk moisture.  Most of the moisture absorbed by a wood floor is not from the top surface but from the bottom.   Wood will continue to slowly absorb water if there’s a source for it to draw from.  Not removing the bulk water can cause the floor to continue cupping, even after the drying system is in place.

3.         Installing vacuum panels.  Professioanl water damage vacuum panels are the only way to dry a wood floor. Since the vacuum panels pull air through the flutes of the flooring, it’s more important to cover the highest number of planks as possible.