Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

I want to paint my Aluminum Siding but was thinking of changing color, what's you advice?

I really would love to change my color of my house, it seems that everyone around me is a beige, what's you advice do you have for Aluminum Siding?

Denise

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-06-12T13:57:36+0000  by FunWrapGirl FunWrapGirl

FunWrapGirl,

If your question is whether aluminum siding may be painted, the answer is yes. Over the years, as a painting contractor, I have painted many aluminum sided homes , including my own, with excellent results.

The important thing is to prepare the siding by giving it a really good washing to remove dirt, mildew and old paint oxidation. Older siding often has an oxidation "dust" on the surface which will rub off on your hand. This must be removed. The easiest way to wash a house is through the use of a power washer, although it certainly can be done by hand.  If mildew is present, a bleach solution is advisable. A vigorous power washing alone will normally take care of regular dirt and the oxidation.

As to paint: a good quality 100% acrylic housepaint, such as those by Behr and Glidden is advisable. No primer is neccessary.  Should a strong color change be contemplated, a second coat of paint may be neccessary. Paint bonds well directly to aluminum siding and should last many years. Obviously, you will never have moisture related peeling on aluminum.

If you are undecided as to what color to use, take a look at the Behr or Glidden exterior color charts. Many harmoniujs color combinations are are depicted.