Sign In to join the community | Help
Lawn & Garden

Killing weeds without losing coverage

Good morning.

I just bought a house in Northern Virginia and the lawn is probably 65% weeds of many varieties. I'm wanting to plan ahead now to know how best to attack the weeds for a nice lawn next season.  It is my first time with a yard, though, and I have no idea where to start.

I am considering trying to kill the weeds and plant seed in the fall, but am concerned that it would allow for winter erosion on the sloped part of the yard (which supports our slab on grade foundation).

I would love advice on when/how I should try to treat the unsloped majority of the lawn and whether I should treat the very sloped portion differently. 

Thank you in advance!
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2015-06-21T14:26:22+0000  by Aishlinn Aishlinn

Hi Aishlinn.

Thank you for your question.  The live weeds that you have now can be pulled out or sprayed with a weed killer, but come next spring, you will still have to deal with all of the weed seeds left behind. This will product more weeds.  Spraying the area with a herbicide will only kill the live plants and will not affect any of the weed seeds unless you use a herbicide that contains a “Pre-emergence”.

To avoid any erosion issues, it may be best to Approach your re-landscaping a section at a time.  Once you remove the vegetation there will not be anything there to hold the soil back in a heavy rain.

If you choose to use a herbicide with a Pre-emergence, you may have to 4-6 months before you can use a grass seed.  When planting in the fall, keep in mind you will want to be sure you plant your grass seeds early enough to allow the seeds to sprout and become established prior to your first freeze.