Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Latex Paint on Water Based Stain

HI- I am new to the community. I am a novice DIYer and am planning on building a outdoor patio table this weekend using the wood from old pallets. I have all the plans in place, but have a question about painting the table. For reference, this is the table I am going to build:

http://www.todaysnest.typepad.com/todays-nest/2011/07/palette-able-patio-cheap-chic-cocktail-table.html

I really like the way that the underlying wood color shows through the paint. However, the wood I have is very light in color, and I would like it to have a darker tone so it shows better against the white paint (like in the picture). My question is:

Can I stain the table with a wood tone, water based stain and then follow it up (after it dries) with a latex paint? Or will the paint not stick/dry on top of the stain? Also, its an outdoor table so I will need to waterproof it. Should I use a waterproof  semi-transparent stain and an outdoor waterproof paint or just use a clear waterproofing sealant after its all said and done.

As I said, I'm a novice, so I may not even be asking the question right! Any thoughts from the community would be greatly appreciated.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-06-29T18:33:10+0000  by bweisenberger bweisenberger

Hello BWeisenberger!

Thanks for the Private Message to follow up on your inquiry!

When I looked at the table in the link you provided, it appears to be an old school "whitewash" finish.

Whitewash was used in frontier America when settlers could only transported small quantities of paint ... most likely due to the weight of a gallon of paint. In an effort to extend the utility, the paint would be thinned with water ... allowing very thin, see-through coverage on multiple buildings. This practice was very common and today we repeat this practice as a craft.