Sign In to join the community | Help
Lawn & Garden

Answered

Lawn Care

I want a decent front lawn instead of the weeds and bear spots I now have.  I am new at this and  need to know everything:  how soon can I prepare the soil, type of grass seed (not too costly), when to sow the seeds, etc.   I am in zone 8 (phenix city, al) 85% full sun and 15% shade from large tree in yard.   I will try to tackle this project myself!    Wish me luck.!  Thanks for your help.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-02-01T16:55:14+0000  by Dyanne Dyanne

Thanks for the info. I will contact the Certified Nursery Consultant in early spring to see when I need to start.

Best Answer

Posted 2013-02-05T06:20:33+0000  by Dyanne

Hi Dyanne,

Welcome to The Community!!!

I'm Travis, in Atlanta. We're pretty much located in the same climate zone. The factors that affect your lawn are all connected to your large tree.

If the tree is a hardwood tree, such as an oak tree, it also has a shallow root system. Tree roots are capable of taking water from the soil much faster than grass can, so there is little moisture left for the lawn.

The shade produced by a hardwood tree is dense. There might not be enough light to support sun loving grasses like Bermuda or Centipede. In these areas, shade tolerant fescue grass might be a better choice.

Fescue grass is best planted in the fall. September and October are the prime months to plant fescue seed in zone 8. This is also when trees begin to drop their leaves. Just as the new grass begins to sprout, trees drop their leaves enough to smother much of that grass. 

Bermuda grass can be planted in the spring, but if the area cannot provide a minimum of 6 hours of direct sunlight per day, the lawn will not grow at its best. Sod can be laid anytime and seed Bermuda after April 1st. in your zone.