Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Leaky hot water faucet, bathroom sink

First things first, I'm pretty new to all things DIY so don't be afraid to dumb it down!

I've turned off the water supply to my bathroom sink, intending to replace the washer, but the water doesn't entirely shut off. I've taken the faucet handle off and it's still sort of dribbling up around the stem (not from the base of the faucet, though). So my question is, am I doing something wrong, or should I just expect to get a little wet?  Is it that:

(a) The problem isn't the washer

(b) It may be the washer but I may have more than one problem

(c) I have weak girly hands and should try harder

(d) some combination of the above?

Amy

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-01-29T22:52:30+0000  by amyo amyo

HI . The shut off valve maybe the OTHER problem. They are sometimes hard to turn all the way. You might have a HANDS problem. Where is your Husband for this?

Posted 2011-01-30T15:40:45+0000  by thomasQ

ok, thanks.  Believe it or not, i'm the "handy" one in the family.  He's the pretty one ;)

Posted 2011-01-30T17:48:40+0000  by amyo

Hey there amyo. You seem to have a better grasp (that totally wasn't an intended pun) than you give yourself credit for. I think thomasQ has a point in that the valve may be part of the problem itself. Your plan to replace the stem washer is dead on. Unfortunatly the valve leaves us at two possibilities.

1. The valve isn't being turned completely. 

2. The valve is being turned completely, but it too has a bad washer.