Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Millwork - Interior Doors Part 1

Hello everyone!

My name is George and for you guys who haven’t viewed my profile yet I’m a Pro Sales associate here at the Chicago area Home Depot.

Today I wanted to take an opportunity here and start a series of posts about doors and windows we have available in our stores and by special order. This will be part one of a three part series that will cover interior doors, exterior doors and windows.

So let's get started with Part 1 Interior Doors (residential and commercial) first! Here are a few things that I will cover:

• An overview of what we carry
  • Good, better, best
  • And step by step Installation

Interior doors

If you happen to be standing in the Door & Window department of The Home Depot and you need to order an interior door for your home, you would find that there are four different material options out there available for your selection.

1. Hollow core molded and flush interior doors

2. Solid core interior doors

3. Solid wood interior doors

4. Interior steel doors

Hollow core molded doors are mostly constructed from a fiber core type of material. They are very lightweight and have interwoven corrugated fiberboards cells in between outer skins in place of solid core. Flush hollow core doors are identical to molded but with wood veneer instead of extruded skins. Both of these doors are good and affordable option that can completely change an appearance of your home improving its style and functionality at the same time.

Solid core doors are esthetically identical to hollow core doors ,the only difference it’s in the actual core of the door were core is solid in oppose to hollow providing an additional structural durability and soundproofing. Overall these doors are better option and investment than hollow doors.