Sign In to join the community | Help
Outdoors

New Paver Patio on clay

I have never done anything like this before and need to know how to start, what and how much base I need, how to integrate small retaining walls for plant beds and so on.  Most of the excess dirt has been removed and now we are leveling it and choosing the pavers.  What are some common mistakes?

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-06-20T18:27:40+0000  by yogigirl yogigirl

Hi,

I am new to this site too! We watched a video on youtube.com that gave us some basic advice on how to design, get pavers, and how to plan for a gentle slope in the patio.

We, too, are planning to put pavers in our garden. We do not know how to put two small rose bushes with the patio pavers around it. Any advice? We know we need to add gravel, sand, and compact down the material. But how do you do that with plants that will go around the pavers? Please give me a site or video to watch for more info.

Thanks!

Posted 2011-06-20T18:50:03+0000  by annlet

Welcome to The Home Depot community  from "Coach Dave",

• Pavers (there are many to choose from)
  • Paver base (the gravel base under the pavers)
  • Paver sand (goes in between close fitting pavers)
  • Tape measure (useful always)
  • Shovel (always buy the best you can afford)
  • Safety gloves (a must have to avoid blisters and splinters)
  • Tamper (if you have a large area The Home Depot rents compactors)
  • Level (if your  doing a flat area)
  • Push broom  or garden hose
  • Paver edging (for walkways)

smlMsr.JPG

Measure the space you want to pave. Remember, length times the width is your total square footage. The square footage determines how many pavers you’ll need.

1) You will need a base of paver gravel about 4 inches deep. You will need about 16 bags for the recommended 4 inches depth for every 20 square feet.

smlSupls.JPG