Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Painting a wall that was previously wallpapered

Hi all...I'm new here and I'm hoping I can find some help for my recently remodeled (or in the process of) bathroom.  This is my first home so I'm new to homeownership and all that comes with it.

We stripped the walls of their wall paper, but it didn't come off pretty.  A couple sections of the wall had multiple layers of wallpaper even.

I'm looking to paint the walls, but something needs done to the walls to "prep" them.  Sections of the wall look horrible now...I don't know the best way to go about fixing this...Here is a couple pics of what I'm working with...Any help for this would be wonderful.  Thanks so much!!20121019_083249.jpg20121019_083259.jpg

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-10-19T13:22:29+0000  by hazeedaisee hazeedaisee

Hello HazeeDaisee!

What a great screen name!

Also, thanks for the photos!

Patching and painting walls previously covered with wallpaper is the final act in a difficult home repair.

Here are your steps:

1) Use a gallon of very warm water mixed with a cup of vinegar to sponge-off as much of the remaining glue as possible;

2) Allow the surface to dry;

3) Use oil-based primer, like Zinsser Cover Stain, to prime the entire surface and allow to dry about two-hours;

4) Use spackle or sheetrock mud to fill the damaged areas;

5) Allow to dry four-hours and sand using 220-grit sandpaper until the wall feels smooth to the touch;

6) Wipe off the sanding dust with a dry terry towel and re-prime the repaired areas ... allow to dry about two-hours; and

7) Paint with water-based paint in a color that matches your decor ... expect to use two coats of paint.