Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Answered

Painting vintage furniture... want "beachy" look

Hi, Online Community.

Craig here, with a message from an Apron blog reader. Sabina was reading an article about staining and painting furniture and wants some advice on painting a vintage dresser:

I just purchased a vintage dresser and would like to give it a beachy look (my home is like a cottage/beachy decor). What kind of paint should i use? Oil based?? I do not want to protect it from stains, glass ring type of stains and so on. I used a latex based paint for a coffee table and when moist hits the surface such as water, it kinda ruffs up in a wrinkle type of way.. I did primer the table prior to paiting it.

Please help. I'm kinda new at this sort of thing. How do i get that glossy profesional finish? like those cool shabbyshick potterybarn type of furniture? I got few nice pieces from potterybarn and would like to create same finishes.

Thank you for all your help, sincerely, Sabina R.

Thanks! I'll repost your response(s) over on the blog. 

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-07-31T19:37:41+0000  by HomeDepotCraig HomeDepotCraig

Hey Craig,

Thanks for forwarding Sabrina's great question!

Sabrina is definitely on the right path if she starts with oil-based primer like Zinsser Cover Stain and follows it with Behr oil-based semi-gloss. Both will help protect the surface against water in her outside spaces.

Creating her shabby chic look will require using faux glaze in the color of her choice.

Here is an example that one of my customers produced using Behr Semi-gloss Cotton Whisper as her base coat and Martha Living Metallic Glaze Muscavado.

Black Lacquer Table.jpg Before  MLMetlGlzTbl2.jpg After

The steps she used are as follows:

1) Lightly buff sand the surface with 220-grit sandpaper;

2) Wipe off the sanding dust using a dry terry towel;

3) Apply one coat of Zinsser Cover Stain;