Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Please Help!

I'm prepping a 70's room for painting. 2 walls have wallpaper and 2 are texture painted white. I'm removing the wallpaper to find unprimed drywall underneath and plaster in places (I assume it was put on to smooth it out). Once I remove all the wallpaper I'm planning on painting all 4 walls but texturing the previously wallpapered walls to match the 2 painted walls. How do I go about doing all of this? Do I need to prime the drywall, but what about the plaster? Do I need to remove it? Any help is appreciated, novice here! Thanks!

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-03-01T16:14:23+0000  by therhett17 therhett17

Hey there therhett17,

Thanks for joining our community!~

Sounds like you've got quite the project ahead of you = )

What is the condition of the walls as you're pulling down the paper? Are you finding that they're still in good shape, with little to no staining? If everything is in good shape, then you can proceed by priming the areas with either an oil or latex based primer. For stain-blocking, you'll find that an oil based primer such as KILZ Original will work well for you. If you have more set-in stains that you find, then a product like Zinsser B-I-N will work great for that also. Note that these will be oil and shellac based primers respectively, so make sure to have adequate ventilation before usage. It's always recommended that you prime before painting as it will lessen the total amount of coats you will have to do to achieve your color.  

Posted 2013-03-01T17:27:12+0000  by Jay_HD_CHI

therhett17,