Sign In to join the community | Help
Tools & Hardware

ROTARY TOOL AND ACCESSORIES

Hello, I am an amateur woodworker, investing in all new tools. I have a Chicago-brand ROTARY TOOL and a set of 249 accessory kit. Help me out here? IDEA BOOKS?  I am steering towrds, kitchen items, children's toys and furnishings. Small furniture like chests, serving trays. bookcases.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-04-05T14:35:07+0000  by whitecougar whitecougar

Hello whitecougar and welcome to The Community!  We are glad you are here.

It sounds like you will soon be well on your way to becoming an expert woodworker with the new tool investment!  It may be best to start with simple projects like serving trays and simple chests to build your skills and then attempt larger and more intricate projects down the road. 

I can recommend several ideas for projects.    Your local Home Depot store has numerous books and magazines geared specifically towards woodworking.  Best of all, most are 10% off publisher’s list price everyday at the store!

Go online and search for “woodworking magazines” and you will be directed to dozens of magazines and literally thousands of free plans.   Several of the magazines have online forums where woodworkers can share tips, tricks, ideas, and plans. 

di-pg-01-04.index-step_01.jpg     kh_learn_interior_stain.jpg

Don’t forget that your project won’t be completed until it is stained or painted.  Check out the How-to section on our website for great project completers, like the Preparing Woodwork for Painting Project Guide and the Interior Stains Buying Guide.

Best wishes and please share photos of your finished projects with us!

dw1.png

Posted 2011-04-05T16:54:29+0000  by Eileen_HD_ATL

Hello again, whitecougar!

I found several great projects to get you started.  You wanted projects for kids (children's toys and furnishings) and this project will take the kids from indoors to outdoors: Build a Kid’s Table.