Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Answered

Removing built-in shelf

Our laundry room has a built-in shelf that I'd like to remove.  I'm planning to just remove the screws from the bracket and use a flat screwdriver to pry the bracket and shelf away from the wall, assuming that the screws and paint are all that are keeping the shelf on the wall.

I've never tried anything like this before, so can anyone tell me by looking at the pictures if the shelf is likely attached with something other than screws? (eg: glue that will be difficult to pry apart, or hidden nails of some sort)  I need to know ahead of time if my removal attempt is going to require more than just some spackle and paint to cover over once it's done.  If it helps, my house is a Trendmaker home

My husband won't be happy if I end up doing something that requires a lot of money to fix, so any advice would be appreciated!

STA_2331.JPG

.STA_2330.JPG

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-01-20T19:18:47+0000  by CatQ CatQ

Hello CatQ,

Thanks for the pictures it helps a lot to see the project.

It looks like the shelf is only held up with the screws but you can never tell if the contractor use some type of adhesive behind the boards. I would also think that there is some caulking around the top edge of the counter.

With that said the only thing that I would have concern with is if there is an adhesive behind the boards that it would tear off some of the paper from the drywall. It’s ok if it does it just means there’s a little bit more patching to do.

Another thing that I noticed is that your walls are textured. Once you take the boards off and patch all of the holes your going to have to texture the repaired areas to match the rest of the wall. We sell a spray texture that can be used for repairs.  It takes a little bit of practice to get the right texture so make a couple of small practice runs on a scrap piece of drywall before you start on the wall.