Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

Replacing a wall light fixture in bathroom. Ground wires are different sizes. Does it matter?

After pulling out a rather old (20+ years) light fixture, I'm ready to pop in the new one, however the ground/copper colored wires are not the same size. I took this pic to demonstrate the difference. The ground wire from the wall (the lower of the two wires) is much thicker and less pliable than the new fixture's wire (just above it). Of note, the picture uploaded sideways for no apparant reason.

I've heard different sized wires means different gauges and that I shouldn't potentially cross them. This is my first attempt to replace a light fixture so I'm fairly clueless as to these things. The old fixture doesn't seem to have had a ground wire.

Anyone know if I should/shouldn't connect them?

photo.JPG

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2012-12-17T20:00:30+0000  by BobVilasson BobVilasson

Hey BobVilasson,

Thanks for your question and welcome to the community.

First off, I have to say your screen name is in my favorite top 5 names here!:smileyhappy:

Judging from your picture (thanks for the upload!), it looks as those 2 ground wires in question are exactly as you stated they were.

As long as you don't cross your bare copper wires with the hot and neutral (usually black and white) wires, you can use a ground connector to connect them together.

Even though they are different gauges, using a copper ground wire connector will be the best solution for safely connecting them. I generally connect the grounds first, then the hot and neutral wires for a light fixture.

Use the connectors shown and linked below to get the ground wires safely installed.

Gardner Bender Copper Crimp Connectors

Simply install the connector over the two wires and...you guessed it...crimp them together. To do this, use a good pair of pliers and only do it once.