Sign In to join the community | Help
Outdoors

Answered

Stone compost bin

I'm just starting out in masonry and I'm just trying to learn the basics first. I plan on making a compost bin out of stone blocks and I need to know what kind of stone/block would be best for this. I cannot use cinderblocks so I HAVE to find a smaller alternative. The left and right side of the compost bin will be 15(will probably have to double this if the blocks end up being too flat) blocks high (I haven't calculated the number of blocks for the middle yet) and I'm going to see if I can attach a mesh screen lid to the top of the structure.  As for binding the stone together, I plan on using a construction polyurethane adhesive. If anyone has some suggestions for me they would be appreciated.
Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2015-04-01T22:35:23+0000  by Samas Samas

Hello Samas and welcome to the Community.

It would be helpful to know the size of the area for your compost bin and any other restrictions.  If possible measure the area so you can determine what size block will fit best.  When viewing any Home Depot products click on the photo and you can access details by selecting the specification tab below the photo.

You say you can’t use cinderblocks because they are too big so I am guessing that retaining wall block would be too large even though that would be my first choice.  Retaining wall blocks have a self-aligning rear lip and automatic setback help provide a stable, hassle-free installation.

To see a video on how to install retaining wall click here and choose the boxes under the picture, that has an arrow in it.  You would only need landscape adhesive for the cap stone top row.

Two brands Loctite and Liquid Nails are excellent for landscaping projects, such as securing block walls and capstones and for bonding brick, stone, timbers, concrete, metal and wood. Both products can usually be purchased as individual tubes in your local Home Depot.