Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Texturing Ceilings with joint compound and texture brush

The subject really says it all; it’s just that I have never done it before.  My husband and I have worked on many projects in this old house built in 1900.  The lower level of our home has drop ceilings in it.  When remodeling our bedroom we decided to take the ceiling back to its original height.  After replacing all plumbing to the upstairs, redirecting the electrical wire, insulating the joists, and installing the drywall, (not to mention all the plaster and blown in insulation that we had to remove first) we have taped and used joint compound on the seams and fasteners.

Now we are ready to texture the ceiling using the joint compound and a texture brush bought from our local Home Depot.  The question is “How”?  How thick do you put on the joint compound?  Which technique is best for using the brush?  Are there any diagrams that show best how to do this?  I am sure we could do an okay job with wingin it but I would prefer to do a great job.  Any suggestions you may have would be helpful.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2010-12-19T20:00:08+0000  by Hambone Hambone

Can I use a looped roller to texture a ceiling with joint compound?
Posted 2012-01-15T01:45:19+0000  by Chief16

Hey kemoore,

Thanks for your question, I apologize for the delay in answering your questions.

In short, yep you can use texture ceiling paint for the ceilings for this project! To me, it actually rolls on easier and faster to work with than joint compound. It has acrylic in it which is easier to deal with for DIY'ers or sloppy painters such as myself :smileytongue:

behrceilingtexture.JPG

Also, to answer your second question, if you use your roller and then stomp the application brush directly to the just applied texture paint. Since it is thinner than joint compound and works better when applied by roller first.