Sign In to join the community | Help
Lawn & Garden

Weeds...Help needed

Hello

I'm having 3 problem areas.

First this is my first time planting sunflowers and have noticed other things growning in the area? Please help me identify what they are.

sunflowers.jpgsunflower weeds.png

Second, after thatching and reseeding I've noticed lots of weeds in the lawn. How can I get rid of these stubborn patches without harming the rest of the lawn?

backyard weeds.jpg

Third, I've got those white buds popping up everywhere this year and I didn't have this problem last year. I've noticed my neighborhood is being taken over by these white buds.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-07-03T14:42:42+0000  by Ladystarr Ladystarr

They're weeds. :smileywink:

Try some Ortho Weed-B-Gone carefully following the instructions on the package.  It will kill you sunflowers so you may want just pull those weeds.  A layer of mulch can help keep them from coming back.

Posted 2013-07-03T14:58:37+0000  by Adam444

I can't help with the lawn weeds but in my flower garden I put down cardboard and then put some topsoil or potting mix (WITHOUT WEED SEEDS) on top of that.  It helped a lot.  It didn't elimenate all of the weeds but lots of them.  It doesn't hurt the flowers.  Just put the cardboard around the sunflowers.  Or around the patch of sunflowers then you will only have to weed right around the flowers.  I have heard of doing that will plastic bags too.  I even tried bubble wrap and that worked too.  I did mine when I was planting the garden.  Hope this helps.

Posted 2013-07-03T16:03:52+0000  by sassycarole1

Hey there,

It’s Jen, from The Home Depot.  I have a few ideas for you.