Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

Answered

copule paint questions

hi everyone

last year I painted one of the bedrooms in saturated peach color in semigloss finish as it was recommended for children bedroom.  I want to change color to a light greenish-blue in sain or eggshell finish.  I do not want to prime unless it absolutly needed.  Is it possible to paint over darker color with lighter one without darker color seeping through?  Also I do nto want to sand walls to take gloss off.

And second issue :  I am painting my cabinets, i got benjamine moore advance paint, primed wood with zinsser 123 primer and today finaly began to paint bathroom cabinets.  I got shur line foam roller and purdy angled 2'' brush.  When I applied paint with a roller, surface got covered in small popped bubbles.  It is my first attempt at painting and I do not know if this is normall and paint will self level as it dries?  I did only back of the doors but do not want to deal with this problem when I paint fronts.

Help!!!

Thanks,

Natasha

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-03-09T20:23:42+0000  by lovedilu lovedilu

Lovedilu,

When rolling cabinets with a foam roller, I always " back brush" with a quality paint brush.This helps alleviate the typical "dipple" that rollers tend to leave and also helps burst any bubbles. The brush must be loaded with paint as if you were only applying the paint with the brush. Use of the product "Floetrol" will also help lessen problems with bubbles in that it increases the wet time of the paint. This allows more time for the paint to level out and for bubbles to take care of themselves.

As to your color change: a  paint color mixed from a "white base", or Ultra Pure White, in the case of Behr paint, will cover almost anything in two coats or less