Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

how to build a small room in basement

hi my name is jermaine, and me and my wife just bought a new house. i am a producer and a dj and i am trying to build a small to medium room in my basement for a small studio to record in. i dont want to finish the whole basement cause i know that a lot of money. but only want to take like one part of the basement and build a small room for it with a door. can somebody please, please , tell me how to do this. i not good with building or material but is willing to do it with some step by step assitance. thank u for any info u can give me. thanks.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-03-02T16:32:38+0000  by jermaine01 jermaine01

Hello : Please don't let urge to feel over whelmed and intimidated get to you. If you can follow instructions, and coaching, and berak the project down into steps or phases this really is VERY doable. You have to break it apart or down into pieces the same way any project is managed.

First:  Make a plan on paper , the walls of the room, how big will it be, draw them out. Will you have a widow to the rest of the basement, draw it in. Will it be a room with a partition, to seperate it in 2 pieces? If so draw it in. How about lights? Will wall, ceiling mounted, or a few desk type lights be what will be best? Either way draw them on your plan. How about power for equipment, will you need 2 or more receptacles, Will you need seperate circuits for power so te quality of the finished product is right meet your needs? What ever the answer is rdaw them on your plans.