Sign In to join the community | Help
Decor

i want to replace two glass pieces on my coffee table with mosiac pieces, how do i do that?

i have an old coffee table with two glass pieces on each end. one of the glass pieces has broke and instead of replacing the glass i would like to do a mosiac piece on each end. i have never done a mosiac piece before and would like to pointers as to what i would need to get and how to do it.

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-08-25T01:46:32+0000  by lunarmamma lunarmamma

Howdy lunarmamma,

Creating a mosiaic is a great way to customize just about any project. However, this is usually a project that would be done with tile or pieces of glass to make such a piece. Here are two methods below, you can use to create your mosaic.

Tile Materials and Tools:

marker
3-4 colors of shiny wall tiles
hammer
cloth to wrap tiles
mastic adhesive
grout
grout float
grout sealant
table or other surface to mosaic

1. Start by sketching a design for the table on a piece of paper. Using a marker, transfer the design to the tabletop (or other surface, or a piece of wood that will become the base for the mosaic design).

2. Decide on the general color scheme, using about three or four different colors: one background color and some accent colors. Buy shiny wall tiles that are either 3" x 3" or 6" x 6."

3. Take one tile at a time and wrap it in cloth. (Note: It's important to wrap the tiles in cloth and/or wear safety glasses. The broken tiles in the photo aren't wrapped so they can be visible for instructional purposes.) Using a regular hammer, break the tile. Be careful about how hard you hit the tile, because it's easy to damage the glaze.

4. Look for tiles that match the outline of the sketch, so you can actually "draw" the outline of the sketch on the tabletop using the small tile pieces. Attach the pieces one at a time using tile adhesive (mastic). Mastic adhesive is pre-mixed and comes in a bucket.