Sign In to join the community | Help
Install & Replace

insulation and drywall

My fiance and I just purchased our first house.  I have no experience in home repairs & maintenance.  Our exterior wall in our garage is not insulated and needs to have drywall put up (currently has cardboard-type material).  Can someone please provide tips/insight on proper installation of insulation and drywall?

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2010-11-08T16:54:47+0000  by newbie25 newbie25

Hi Newbie!  It is not a great mystery to do!  I would start by going to Home Depot and finding an instore workshop to learn the ins and outs of this topic.  I have seen a couple of their classes on this, and they do a great job.  With it being in the garage area, it may just be the best place to start to learn the basics.  I would also check Youtube to see what is there.  Good Luck!!  Welcome to the community!  Gary S from the Old Tool Shed.

Posted 2010-11-08T17:21:03+0000  by gscottmaine

Hello newbie25,

Welcome to the Home Depot Community, you must live in my neck of the woods, I’m in the Chicago area, and it been cold here, waking up to below freezing temperature is not nice, but we can handle it. I will assume that you have 2x4’s there now; usually they are spaced out every 16”. Typically 2x4 studs are actually 3-1/2” deep, so you want insulate to fill that void. Owens –Corning makes an R-15 and R-13 that are both 3-1/2” thick, so either of these will insulate nicely, the higher the R-value the more resistance, which means more energy efficiently. You can check with your local Home Depot for prices on each of these.

These rolls of fiberglass insulation have a paper backing attached to them; the paper backing is called Kraft Paper or Vapor Retarder. You install the insulation with the paper towards the inside of the garage; also the paper is used to attach the insulation between the 2x4’s. You fasten the insulation with a Staple Gun, or a Hammer Tacker.