Sign In to join the community | Help
Paint

peeling paint

I painted my bathroom yesterday and the paint is peeling right off! I used Glidden paint and primer combined.

I stripped the wallpaper and washed down the walls. They had been painted by the contractor when the bathroom was remodeled and the contractor also papered the walls. So, I don't know what they used for a base coat.

I rolled on the first coat and it kept clumping. So I let it dry overnight, sanded it where it was rough so I could give it another coat. Then, I started wiping it down with water to wipe the dust off. The paint literally wipes/peels off with plain water.

I used a paint with primer in it since I didn't know what the orginal paint was. But, obviously, it didn't work. What now! Is it the Glidden paint? I have been painting for over 40 years and never had any problems like this!

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2013-03-05T22:13:32+0000  by Suez Suez

Welcome to our community Suez!

My name is Christine and I work in the paint department at The Home Depot. .

stand behind both the Glidden Duo and the Behr Ultra (both are a paint and primer in one). However, not even these can be used in every paint situation. That being said, neither of these paints can be used directly over wallpaper, or directly over walls that have had wallpaper removed. :(

Here's the reason why. Wallpaper glue is water based. The paint and primer in one is water based. If you were to put this paint directly over wallpaper, the glue would rewet and cause bubbling. When removing wallpaper, there is no way to remove all of the residual glue. When you put this paint on top of exposed glue, it will cause it to bubble and peel because the glue has reactivated.