Sign In to join the community | Help
Flooring

Answered

replacing broken tiles in shower

My dog has major anxiety attacks during storms, and often will cause damage to my new house.  She has recently has chewed up the door frames of 3 different bedroom doorways,& tore the tv cable out of the wall twice. So I thought putting her my shower would be a safe place for her where she couldn't hurt herself or tear anything up.  I was wrong.  She tore out 3 tiles & destroyed the sheetrock & materials beneath the tile at the door entrance.  I need to know how to replace that underlying material & the tile pieces.  I have pictures but not sure if I can post them here, this is my first time to use this forum.  I am newly separated & going through a divorce & am trying to learn how to do things that my husband would normally be doing.  Any help is appreciated!!  Thanks!  DD

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-05-12T07:18:15+0000  by DeDeedoesit DeDeedoesit

Ah, I gotcha. Wow...that's one strong dog to have ripped out ceramic tiles :o

Oh and for future use if you ever get that message again, you can upload your pictures to a hosting site that will resize them for you automatically, like http://imageshack.us/ and then post them. =)

As for the question at hand, you're in a tricky spot to repair. The sheetrock that is behind the tile is called "green board." It's a moisture resistant form of traditional drywall and is common in older bathrooms. Depending on how bad the greenboard is, you may or may not have to replace it entirely.

If only the top paper layer was removed, then you can tile back over that with no problem.