Sign In to join the community | Help
Build & Remodel

Answered

storage box for classroom posters

I would like to build a box with slots to put charts and posters for my classroom in.

The dimensions would be 40" x 30" x 24"

I have some experience with smaller projects. I'm not sure of the type of wood or if extra support would be needed. If so, how much?

Something similiar to the picture below:

storage container.jpg

Not what you were looking for ? Try posting a question
Posted 2011-07-13T15:29:11+0000  by als als

Hello als,

Welcome to the community.

This looks like a fairly simple project. I would either use Baltic birch plywood or MDF. They all are easy to work with.

I prefer using plywood over MDF for things that are going to be moved at all. The plywood tends to be a little lighter and also hold up better.  If you are going to just build it and set it on a counter then MDF or Melamine will work out great.

The best way to build it would be with a table saw and a set of dado blades. Dado joints are really sturdy and make things easy to assemble.

dado blade.jpg

I would use ¾” thick for the outside box and ½” for the shelves. If you’re going to put a back on it you can get away with using 1/8” or ¼”.

If you go with plywood it will come in a 48” x 96” sheet and if you go with MDF it comes in 49” x 97” sheets. Keep this in mind as you layout your pieces.

Cut one piece 48 1/4” x 30” and then cut ½”wide x 3/8”deep dados at each shelf height. Once you have completed all the dados, cut it in half to make both your sides. Assuming you’re saw blade has a ¼’ kerf both pieces will end up 24” x 30”. If your sheet goods start out at 48” wide then the pieces will end up slightly less than 24”. Just make sure that all of the pieces are the same depth.

dado joint.JPG

You can also do the dados with a router if you don’t have a dado blade set. Check out this previous post to see how.